Dr. Raahi Acharya

Description:
Dr. Raahi Acharya
Scion of Ganesha
Pedagogue
9xp

Attributes:

Strength:	2		Charisma:	2		Perception:	4 (1)

Dexterity:	4 (2)		Manipulation:	2		Intelligence:	5 (3)

Stamina:	3		Appearance:	3		Wits:		2 (1)

Abilities:

Academics:	4		Melee:		3		Occult:		1

Athletics:	3		Fortitude:	3		Awareness:	2

Integrity:	2		Archaeology:	3		Brawl:		1

Investigation:	3		Control:	2 (Motorcycle)  Marksman:	2
                                                     (Car)
Survival:	2		Medicine:	1               Molecular Bio   2

Knacks:

Blockade of Reason
Know-It-All
Perfect Partner
Lightning Sprinter
Instant Investigator
Telescopic Senses
Fast Learner

Birthrights:

Axe of Ganesha 4 (Earth Purview, +1 Damage, 2 point ability)
Sim card of the gods (Mystery 1)
Rat 2

Boons:

Echo Sounding (Perception + Awareness)
Mystery 1 (Intelligence + Mystery)
Kriya (Legend)
Karma
Pratyave

Virtues:

Endurance 3
Harmony 1
Intellect 4
Order 2

Legend: 4
Willpower: 7
Legend Points: 16/16

Languages:

English
Hindi
Sanskrit
Aramaic
French
Mandarin
Spanish
Latin
African Tourist Language
Bio:

Character Survey

What is your name?

Dr. Raahi Acharya

What else do you answer to?

I prefer to go with Raahi, it’s a short enough name, it doesn’t really need a nickname. I will correct those who pronounce it incorrectly, but it is simple enough even for English speakers. I have been called Ray at times, but am not fond of it.

Where were you born? Where did you grow up?

I was born in Chicago and grew up there. My mother was, and still is, an encumbent professor of economics at the University of Chicago.

What was your religious upbringing?

My mother is Hindi. Though not the most devout follower, she did bring me up with an understanding of the religion. My father was more deeply religious, but rarely around to teach. It was a constant aspect of my life, though as I grew older I became less certain of my own faith.

Was there something you believed in as a child? When did you stop?

I used to believe in many things. I always was a curious child, and uncovering new things only made me more confident that there was even more out there for me to find. The wildest fantasies vanished during elementary school, and there was a slow decline up through high school, until even my religion was shaky. It never truly dissipated, but I went from accepting that there was more out there that I was unaware of, to weakly hoping and searching. I cannot truly trust even the recent revelations my place as the son of a god have revealed. I am not foolish enough to dismiss them of course, but I remain a certain skeptical attitude, though I would enjoy for them to be proven truth.

Who is your mother? When is the last time you saw her?

My Mother is Kajri Harper. She is still a professor at the University of Chicago. She is ethnically half Indian. It has been several years since I last saw her. We were drifting apart since the day I was born, and recently neither has seen much need to visit. I care for her, in my way, but the connection has always been a strange one. We follow each other through our published papers more than anything else.

Who is your father? When is the last time you saw him?

He was Ekadenta Acharya. He was a lecturing professor of various topics. I never exactly knew his past, which seemed odd, as he was clearly quite well known. My mother rarely seemed curious or found it strange, and he tended to deflect when I asked directly. I knew what universities he had attended and taught at, but little else. He was always fairly jovial, so different from my mother, but I saw him rarely as he travelled even more than I do now. He died years ago, while away from home. We were never able to retrieve the body due to unspecified quarantine procedures.

Anything else about your family you’d like me to know?

Though my immediate family members are well-educated and academic, my extended family is a fairly mixed bag. My father’s family was always mentioned vaguely as largely doing research work at various universities in India. I only ever met any of them until his funeral. Several showed up then and were reasonably talkative. They didn’t strike me as the sort of academics I was used to, in our brief encounter. The only one I have met more than once is a cousin of mine, Harini, who acts as a museum curator in Calcutta. We have actually gotten on rather poorly, but I still tend to visit her when I’m in the area.

My mother’s side of the family is quite large. She was the middle child of five. Two of her siblings went to live in India, and one of them was born there. They have met with various levels of success in their lives, but my mother never seems to have much use for any of them. I have found it odd that she seems to have so little interest in family, but still expresses interest in her heritage. I have a number of cousins, as well as an even larger number of nieces and nephews, and have them all carefully documented for our rare meetings, but those visits are rare.

What’s your earliest memory?

I remember there was a rat in my crib. I was not afraid of it, I am not certain I comprehended any difference between it and the toy elephant that also shared the crib. More than the rat itself I recall my mother’s explosive reaction, one of the few times I’ve seen emotional concern from her. And I remember my father’s lack of reaction, one of the few times he did not display great emotion. I do not remember how the incident ended, but those things stay with me.

Where do you live? Describe your home.

I have a dwelling at the University of Chicago. As I have never become a tenured professor there, they do not grant me a house, but I have a comfortable apartment. It is actually more than I require, really, as I spend much of my time abroad. The decorations consist almost entirely of maps and other charts, as well as interesting finds I have uncovered that were not quite worthy of museum display. One room is entirely bare.

What do you do for money?

I receive an adequate stipend from the University, and they pay for housing and basic meals. When in the field, equipment is provided as well, though I have spent some of my discretionary funds on a few tools that I can’t rely on them to have on hand. Money is rarely something that concerns me.

Aside from your home or a workplace, where do you spend the most time?

I travel extensively. The locations vary, though I prefer sites in South America or Africa when given the choice. I rarely visit a location twice, though I do visit Calcutta with slight frequency. Of course, that is arguably also for work purposes, as the University there is excellent for my field.

I do take leisure time, though more so when out of the country. Most of my friends are colleagues, some of whom I only see every so often at a dig site. I do enjoy the company of those who can keep up with me, and find visiting local bars or the like fascinating. I also visit any landmarks of interest to me when given the chance.

What do you drive?

I do not own a car. When I am home, I live in the middle of Chicago, where a vehicle is of only mild help, and I am not there long enough to make it worthwhile. I tend to prefer utilitarian vehicles when out in the field, and am most comfortable in a Land Rover Defender, or other stripped down, capable SUV. If I am staying in a city for some time and decide I do need a car, I will go for something small and efficient instead. I am a rather capable driver, both on roads and off, and prefer to do my own driving when possible.

Describe your mobile phone.

I have two primary phones. I use a Casio Commando as a back-up to my laptop when quick notes or information are necessary, and also as my standard communication device when in areas with signal. It’s an especially rugged phone, which I consider worthwhile even if it suffers in other areas as a result. I also carry an Iridium satellite phone for the many times that I am outside of cellular range. Both devices are ones I have spent my own money on and, along with my laptop, among the few things I upgrade regularly. All are purchased with a high degree of ruggedness in mind.

What do you carry with you all the time?

I carry both phones at all times. The Iridium has become a habit, so I carry it even in Chicago unless there is some specific reason I cannot. I also carry a small notebook with attached pencil. I prefer to enter things via computer, but the phone is slow for large amounts of input and I prefer a low-tech backup. I carry a quality utility knife of the legal size as well as a capable multi-tool. This list expands greatly for field work. My laptop and a supply of food and water are my next most common items, generally carried via backpack.

What was the outcome of your last relationship?

I have had two significant relationships, the second of which ended four years ago. It lasted for seven months before we grew tired of each other. I am not sure I am really the sort to live with someone, it felt almost as if I was draining a bit more knowledge from here every day. I had been fascinated with her initially, but over time the mystery was gone, and I was not sure what else to do.

What was the last TV show you watched regularly?

I was fond of Nova as a child. I watch television at times still, but rarely any single show. A documentary here or there and the occasional movie, but keeping up with any single show does not seem like a good use of my time.

How do you get your news?

I use the internet exclusively. I have a wide range of specialist blogs and reliable news sites that I check regularly, and will follow up on any story of interest. I avoid televised news quite intentionally.

Dr. Raahi Acharya

Scion: Cold War Elanna